How It Works Start My Diary Login Sign Up

Laughing Buddha

9.4/10
Follow
17
Cremo Apprentice
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Neutral
Growing it
Normal
Just go get high on Laughing Buddha. It is a great strain for people that like the daytime high. It's def worth it! It has the most beautiful buds from all the strains I ran this season. They main buds looked like little crowns!
2 weeks ago
BudXs Master
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Weak
Growing it
Easy
How do you rate a male plant? For its life it was strong, but I had to murder it, for I didnt want it canoodling with my ladies. I know the female flowers of this plant to be a nice and well liked bud. Sadly, however, I will never taste its sweet nectar. I leave a bong rip tribute in place of harvest photos. Dont hate me, dont hate Beans, he's sweet BEans, not sour BEans. HE didnt do this on purpose..... Just like China isnt sending unlabelled seed packs to north america. Oh well, strange times, this is relatively low on my stress radar.

10/10 would do again

Seriously though, big ups to @BeanswithPork for the gift, and the back and forth mail game we have going on
1 month ago
Xubabuba Newbie
9
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Normal
This stain is one of the strongest stain i have ever tried :)
4 months ago
Ts1Ko Apprentice
9
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Normal
It's a great sativa. Absolutely recomended. Love it.
4 months ago
NewbieLearner Apprentice
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Easy
One of our favourite strains! She takes a little longer to finish flowering, however she yields super heavy sweet smelling buds. They are always compact and pack a heavy hit. We love cutting clones and doing this plant again and again purely because its so dank! Highly highly recommended!!!!
4 months ago
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Normal
I am very pleased with the first experience, I learned almost everything at once. I tested a lot from defoliation to scrog, I learned how to read salt, and distinguish disease.
I didn’t know that there was no calcium in the fertilizers, and the water was osmosis, I just started to add it at flowering (and I knew that sativa needed less ppm. I salted it 2 times. The plant withstood everything, and in spite of this, it is very powerful and gives a stronger effect than an orange ... TOTAL WEIGHT OF DRY: 220(Orange sherbet) +133(Buddha) = 353 Good and powerful buds and 140-150 g trim with popcorn. I have never smoked this in my life).

I made a bubble hash, then made a rosin from trim. Oh my god, how delicious it turned out. I made Gash.
6 months ago
Kayaboy Apprentice
8
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Easy
Strong plant can handle stress and diseases as my temps were not stable at all at early veg and late flowerings. Buds look great fat and stink :) cant wait to try after cure even though a tester showed good signs, powerful and tasteful
7 months ago
gdogfunk Master
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Easy
I’ve only just sampled a bud last night and then again just now. I took one bong hit instead of clearing the whole bowl, just to see how much of a punch she is packing. I’m ripped from the single hit, so I’d say she’s as powerful as they come!
7 months ago
BeanswithPork GrandMaster
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Normal
Not my first time growing Barney’s Farms Laughing Buddha, not my last. This slowly worked my way into my favorites and for now remains #1. Consistently larger yields (within my grow environment) and potent sativa product of utmost quality. This most recent time I didn’t get the big yield I was expecting, but the result was worth growing - superb.

This one is a regular clone of Monster Laughing Buddha 2019 (II). This plant narrowly avoided a huge fungus gnat problem, resisting those pests with the move to 12/12 and stronger fan, and other pest problems that happened later in my veg. tent. Buddha seems to be resistant both indoors and outdoors.

The rush to move to flower did save problems, but also resulted in a smaller plant going into flower. This may have contributed to the smaller yield. That, and the cold temperatures, and maybe other factors I’m discovering as I get better at growing. Other than this, flowering was a breeze.

No issues, plenty of swell and big crystaly bud. Very aesthetically pleasing. It may give other iterations of Buddha a run for their money. Very strong smell of pungent, fuel, not sour diesel, and maybe with some sweet tones this time. Just fantastic.

I would give it a 10/10 on account of the bud quality, but that is only by a hair as the yield was down.
9 months ago
BeanswithPork GrandMaster
8
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Easy
This write-up reviews a Laughing Buddha clone that was primarily grown outdoors. The original genetics comes from Barney’s Farms. This clone is a regular clone. It was rooted and grown indoors under LED lights, and then transplanted outdoors directly into the ground as a full grown plant. The projected window is mid to late October, and I cut slightly early (around October 10th) as I spotted mold on a bud.

Overall, the big detractor is my outdoor location and there was a big risk of light pollution in flower. Two nearby plants were seeded badly by a large industrial floodlight. Laughing Buddha has also experienced some seeds, although not as many. So, does a light stressed induced hermaphrodite produce pollen? Was Laughing Buddha cross pollinated by Hash Plant (and wouldn’t this produce feminized seeds)? Was Laughing Buddha also stressed from light? If this was the case it proves that light stress does not have to be direct light. Whereas I docked those other grows big time for a loss of quality through seeding, I will only subtract a small amount in this case. I suspect seeds are common in outdoor grows.

I had already performed LST before moving outdoors so this plant had many crowns that got huge. I was very happy with bud density and size, on a direct comparison the buds were less dense than Laughing Buddha indoors. The strength of Buddha’s yield comes from the bunches of bud that spot the branches. If you allow this strain to get big, it will reward you all the way up the branch. Whereas bud density was less, overall yield was much more than indoors. 134 grams would be more then I usually get indoors, and I composted lots of subpar or veggie bud - I only spend time with the nice crowns and main stems.

Taste, minus the odd seed, is nearly identical to indoors. Slightly less strong, the smells are almost the same. Fuel like, sour, not like sour diesel at all. I find the outdoor buds less harsh and pungent, and maybe more of a sweet deep undertone? Not like berries. I find Laughing Buddha hard to describe. A sour fuel is the best description, but I think that misplaces people when they think of strains they have experienced.

So overall we have determined that Laughing Buddha is a huge yielding strain indoors and outdoors. It is resistant to mold and pests where other plants are vulnerable. This is good because it allows you to keep it outdoors longer, and it has a looooong flowering time. In the Canadian Maritimes that trait is important. Its unclear on how it did in terms of stress in my particular environment. Taste is pretty much the same, just less pronounced with the outdoor version. Bud density is comparable both indoors and outdoors. Other than seeds and just not quite the same quality bud as indoor, I am quite happy with this strain as always.
11 months ago
BeanswithPork GrandMaster
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Easy
This is Laughing Buddha from Barney’s Farms. Great genetics that prove to be elite time and time again. This time, it was a monster cropped clone (a clone taken from a flowering plant). The strain is a strong grower, loves plant food, and is resistant to mold and pests. This plant’s direct neighbor got a splotch of mold, while Laughing Buddha remained unharmed. There were literally no issues with growing, a perfect experience and harvest.

Compared to a similar aged outdoor Laughing Buddha, the indoor produced much denser buds covered in more trichomes. Buddha is a good yielder and I netted almost seventy grams of really nice elite, dense product, composting anything below large nugs.

The tastes and smells are strong pungent, fuel and sour like (but I would not describe it as Sour Diesel). At first it really hits you and you wonder if you even like the fragrances, but its quickly addicting! The flavors cure nicely.

The effects are strong sativa, I am guessing very high THC levels. I usually gravitate towards indica effects, but after taking a few days off of Buddha, and then going back with this harvest, the effects were much more pronounced. So I’m boosting the rating to 10/10. Its a sativa, but its pretty much the best genetics I’ve encountered.

This is a must-grow.
11 months ago
BeanswithPork GrandMaster
9
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Neutral
Growing it
Normal
This is a Laughing Buddha clone. All my Laughing Buddha genetics come from Barney’s Farms, basically all from one seed that has been cloned and monster cloned, and its clones cloned, etc. Laughing Buddha gives you vigorous growth, and huge swelling buds. It is consistently my top yielding strain - so that is a perk. It is majority sativa with a long recommended flowering time (10 weeks) so patience is required. I harvested this plant partway through the ninth week. It takes many nutrients and has good vegetative growth.

A delayed and long stretch period but then bud explosion quickly to follow. The smell during growing is sort of fuel like, not my favourite, but still intriguing. The size of the buds combined with the resin/trichomes will be mesmerizing. Near the end many of the buds were horizontal from the weight.

Everything went well with this grow and harvest. The taste came out very strong of a sour fuel (not sour diesel!!), maybe a bit pine? I find this strain hard to nail down in terms of taste.

Other than yield, the effects are what shine with Buddha. This is a strong sativa! I would say my rating is actually a 9.5, it is just that I prefer the concussive indica effects - otherwise perfect.

Grow this strain!
1 year ago
NomNom Master
9
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Neutral
Growing it
Easy
:point_right:The Good:yum:

Miss Monk has been a hell of a fun girl to grow, she has grown big fat colas with big fat buds. She if very pungent in smell with a very papaya tone to her while growing.

Now that she is dried and 1 month cured I can tell you she still has retained that tropical papaya smell to her with some backup notes for sweet and fruity.

Vaping her I find the taste to be on the Earthy and Pine side with just the lightest hint of a little skunk. It’s very pleasant and nice, but the fruity sweet tones weren’t there in the vape and that’s ok. Some of the other fruity and sweet weed out there get tiring and overbearing after a couple days. Having an earthy pine taste to her makes her a bit more “classic” and it’s a taste that is nice long term day in and day out.

Her effects have changed a lot in the last month. Smoking her right after she dried vs a month into cure is 2 very different experiences. Right after we she finished drying, she was peaky in the high, very energetic, and was very hard to sleep on. Now that we are a month in the cure she has mellowed out a lot. The high is more blunt, last longer, and very smooth. She still a sativa and she’s not going to couch lock you, but she makes you want to do more creative or interactive activates like reading a book, drawing, playing an instrument, or video games. Now that she is cured I can also sleep on her, she won’t really put you to sleep but she will let you and will give you nice creative dreams.

Barney’s Farm lists her as an 80% Sativa, and I’m not use if it’s just my pheno but I would have rated her more along the 60% Sativa scale. She is still talkative, engaging, and interactive, but it’s more like a nice coffee house high with your friends, or it’d be awesome to smoke during a night of billiards.

:point_right:The Bad:worried:

I had some excess heat issues in the grow room, and my Funny Monk really didn’t like the excess heat. Now keep in mind this is 28-30C at the hottest points, the excess heat was just that, excess, it wasn’t extreme. Miss Monk had taco’ing leaves fairly badly, she also produced ~5 bananas across the entire plant that I found. I marked the cola’s that I found banana’s on and kept them separate for me to smoke first. I can tell you that I have yet to find a seed and that makes me very happy.

:point_right:Harvest In Numbers:pray:

450w LED above her (From the wall)
7.53 sq.ft (0.7 sq.m)

2,137 g (75.38 oz) Wet Total
452.5 g (15.96 oz) Dry Total

21.2% Net dry weight

23 weeks growing

1 week drying = 24 weeks total

452.5 g / 24 weeks = 18.85 g / week (0.67 oz /week)

452.5 g / 47 branches = 9.63 g / branch (0.34 oz / branch)

452.5 g / 450 watts = 1.01 g / watt

452.5 g / 0.7 sq.m = 646.4 g / sq.m

Miss Laughing Buddha was in her own ~2’x4’ measuring it out it’s a little under that so I used 0.7 sq.m or 15.1 sq.ft as the actual size.

I used a max of 450w during flower, but with the heat issues I was having (due to the 30 C outside temps) she only had 450w for about ~2 weeks of flower. The rest of the time the LED light power was below 450w and I’d say the majority of the time she only got around ~300w of power. However I’m going to use the 450w for the calculation as that is the peak that she received.

Barney’s Farm quotes her as 600 g/sq.m and she outperformed that with 646.4 g/sq.m showing that their estimate is well within reason.

She produced 1 g/watt and I consider that a very conservative estimate since most of the time she was down around the 300w range. If I did the numbers with 300w she’d be up in the 1.5 g/watt area, I think the truth for this girl is somewhere between those two numbers.

21.2% net dry is prefect for this girl, it’s right in the sweet spot that I usually see.

A very impressive (especially with the long flower time of her at 73 days) of 18.85 g/week growing.

:point_right:Final Thoughts:point_left:

I think one of the reasons why my girl has come out more on the “relaxing” end and not as much on the “energetic” side is because of her ripeness when harvesting. She ripened more then I think I was supposed to let her. She had tons of amber through her trichomes, just riddle with them, and I think that is why she more on the relaxing end. Not sure shy she ambered in so fast and dense, but I don’t regret it one bit. I have lots of energetic sativas and I really like her mellow side to her, it’s still happy, active, and engaging but her mellow side makes her great for an engaging in evening with friends. A very very nice sativa that has the relaxing effects that I love after a long week of work.

I’m giving her a 9/10, I think she is near perfect but I’m deducting 1 point for the sensitivity to the heat that she showed.

I would definitely recommend anyone to give her a grow, she is very easy to grow and will make you feel like a superstar with the yields and quality that she produces. I’ll be growing her again in the future and I’ll be growing her during the winter so I can control the temps more easily.

Not sure if I’ll send her to a lab for testing or not. I’ll update with the results if I send her to the lab.
1 year ago
Skunk_Life85 Apprentice
9
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Normal
Awsome strain to grow, can handle heavy nutrient. Great for daytime psycho buzz
1 year ago
VIPgrower Apprentice
9
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Easy
Very large crystal covered buds still curing not sure Total weight yet was very sticky dried a bud in dehydrator got stoned so that’s hot to be good right lol
1 year ago
ChefDan420 Master
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Easy
Think :thinking_face: it is true that looks aren’t everything. She’s gotta be one of the ugliest girls I’ve seen with but her taste is amazing :grinning: definitely one of the best I’ve had. Absolutely aday time girly. A couple days ago, I had a bong hit and right away the great flavor let me know that I wasn’t going to be sleeping :zzz: good that night :face_with_symbols_on_mouth:. But the flavor really is amazing :cool:
1 year ago
BeanswithPork GrandMaster
8
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Neutral
Growing it
Normal
This plant displayed the typical Laughing Buddha genetics: easy to grow, vigorous sativa, large yield. Overall, it is as I expected!

The individual plant came as a puny, little, malformed monster cropped clone. It resisted light damage early on and rebounded. It still reached a nice potential, though I wonder what it could have become had I not heavily defoliated and then lost leaves early in flower. I clearly created a nutrient imbalance to turn the leaves yellow, but Buddha normally takes lots of plant food.

I struggled to nail the taste down this time. It gives off a sweet, fuel like smell, but I find characterizing it as more elusive than my previous Buddha grows. I found the taste did not come out quite as much as my previous grow, likely on account of the restricted potential of the buds. I also suspect some of the dead trim that was hard to cut off also adds to its blandness. This was the major factor scoring this round as a 8/10, and the last Buddha plant as 9/10.

It is sativa dominant, nice and potent. No issues with the THC content with this individual plant, still a very nice product.

I still maintain that Barney’s Farm Laughing Buddha is an elite strain. All my grows (past, current, and future) have been from the lineage taken from one seed. The yield and strong sativa qualities are worth it!
1 year ago
Cultus Apprentice
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Strong
Growing it
Normal
Fantastic daytime smoke. Uplifting and energetic with a very high THC level that provides a moderate relief to peripheral neuropathy
1 year ago
JohnnyBlaz3 Apprentice
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Neutral
Growing it
Normal
Well Its gonna be quite a while until I get the true sampling but as for the effects, LOVE IT, nice pick me up high that I was looking for, stoked I have a bounty of this!!!!
1 year ago
G4NJAG4NG Apprentice
10
Laughing Buddha
Resistance
Neutral
Haven’t dried yet still drying and then 2 week cure will update after
1 year ago
Show More